Department Labs

Jeffrey Milbrandt, MD, PhD

Head of the Department of Genetics


Contact

Phone: Debbie Peterson 314-362-2139

Email: Assistant: debbie@wustl.edu

Website: http://milbrandt.wustl.edu

Our laboratory seeks to understand the molecular mechanisms that lead to axon degeneration and the diseases that stem from this degenerative process.

Barak Cohen, PhD

Professor

Alvin Goldfarb Distinguished Professor of Computational Biology

Contact

Phone: 314-362-3674

Email: cohen@wustl.edu

Website: http://genetics.wustl.edu/bclab

Massively parallel assays of enhancer function

 

Don Conrad, PhD

Assistant Professor


Contact

Phone: 314-362-4379

Email: don.conrad@wustl.edu

Website: http://genetics.wustl.edu/dclab

Driven to answer important outstanding questions in human genetics using a diverse set of methods.

Joseph Dougherty, PhD

Assistant Professor


Contact

Phone: 314-286-0752

Email: jdougherty@wustl.edu

Website: http://www.genetics.wustl.edu/jdlab/

Our laboratory is interested in the neurogenetics and genomics of behavior in health and disease. We utilize a variety of techniques spanning from human molecular genetics and informatics to mouse behavioral neuroscience and neuroanatomy.

Susan Dutcher, PhD

Professor


Contact

Phone: 314-362-2765

Email: dutcher@wustl.edu

Website: http://www.genetics.wustl.edu/sdlab

The Dutcher Lab studies the assembly and function of basal bodies/centrioles and cilia using genetics, biochemistry, microscopy, and computational biology.


We are broadly interested in the genetic basis of evolutionary change and specifically interested in the role of changes in gene regulation.

Stephen Johnson, PhD

Professor


Contact

Phone: 314-362-0362

Email: sjohnson@wustl.edu

Website: http://genetics.wustl.edu/sjlab

Our lab is interested in growth control and morphogenesis in zebrafish development.

Heather Lawson, PhD

Assistant Professor


Contact

Phone: 314-362-7269

Email: lawson@wustl.edu

Website: http://genetics.wustl.edu/hllab

We integrate whole-genome sequence data with phenotypic data to understand the molecular mechanisms underlying the genetic architecture of metabolic traits.

Robi Mitra, PhD

Associate Professor

Alvin Goldfarb Distinguished Professor of Computational Biology

Contact

Phone: 314-362-2751

Email: rmitra@wustl.edu

Website: http://www.genetics.wustl.edu/rmlab

Deciphering the Transcriptional Networks that Control Vertebrate Development

Samantha Morris, PhD

Assistant Professor


Our research focuses on dissecting the gene regulatory networks that define cell fate. We apply this knowledge to engineer clinically relevant cell types.

 

Zachary Pincus, PhD

Assistant Professor


Contact

Phone: 314-747-5520

Email: zpincus@wustl.edu

Website: http://zplab.wustl.edu/

We study individual variability, aging, and robustness.

 

Michael Province, PhD

Professor

Director, Division of Statistical Genetics (DSG

Contact

Phone: 314-362-3616

Email: mprovince@wustl.edu

Website: https://dsgweb.wustl.edu/

The primary mission of the Division of Statistical Genomics is to provide leadership
and promote excellence in statistical genomics and genetic epidemiology research
at WUMS.

 

Nancy Saccone, PhD

Associate Professor


Using mathematical and statistical methods to study the genetics of complex traits in humans.

 

Tim Schedl, PhD

Professor


Contact

Phone: 314-362-6162

Email: ts@wustl.edu

Website: http://www.genetics.wustl.edu/tslab

]

The Schedl lab studies germline development of the soil nematode C. elegans. We use genetic, genomic, molecular, cellular and developmental approaches to investigate

 

James Skeath, PhD

Professor


Contact

Phone: 314-362-0535

Email: jskeath@wustl.edu

Website: http://www.genetics.wustl.edu/jslab

We investigate the genetic and molecular basis of both asymmetric divisions and cell-type specific differentiation programs through the use of the Drosophila model system, focusing primarily on nervous system development.

 

Gary Stormo, PhD

Joseph Erlanger Professor


Contact

Phone: 314-747-5535

Email: stormo@wustl.edu

Website: http://stormo.wustl.edu/

Most of the experimental work is focused on understanding the regulation of gene expression, and especially the basis of specificity in protein-nucleic acid interactions.

 

Ting Wang, PhD

Associate Professor


Contact

Phone: 314-286-0865

Email: twang@wustl.edu

Website: http://wang.wustl.edu/

Our research is to understand the evolution and adaption of human regulatory networks, with a focus on the impact of these processes on human health and disease.